Board of Trustees

Our board is truly dedicated to the future of Valwood School.

The individuals who volunteer their time to serve on the board provide diverse skills and perspectives. They share a deep personal commitment to the school’s mission and long-term financial health.

The strength of the board lies in identifying issues and challenges that will impact the school while creating and implementing strategies to provide thoughtful solutions.

Each board member is honored to serve our school community and enhance the Valwood experience.


Board of Trustees – Executive Committee

Daniel Schert* – Chair

Dr. Tia Sanderlin – Vice Chair

Brad Soshnik – Secretary

Cavan Perry – Treasurer

April Scruggs – Immediate Past Chair

Jim Godbee – Chairman’s Choice

Trustees 2019 – 2020

Dr. Caryn Alvarado

Samantha Demersseman

Catherine Daugharty – VPA President

Thompson Gooding*

Clay Griner

Judy Hathcock

Shelley Holloway

Maranda Houston

Daniel Kerrigan

Greg Miller

Marriott Miller

Casey Music

Dorothy Ofori

John Peeples*

Cavan Perry

Dr. Krishnendu Roy

Brad Soshnik

Rouse Vallotton

*indicates Valwood Alumni

See for Yourself

We invite you to explore Valwood through our website, but the best way to learn more about our school’s mission and approach is to visit us. We hold admissions coffee-and-tour sessions monthly where you will learn about our curriculum and extracurricular programs, and you will also be able to see first-hand our beautifully designed, state-of-the-art facilities.

Schedule a Tour